Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Film bubbles

Author Topic: Film bubbles
Eric Nirome
Film Handler

- posted 01-29-2009 01:49 AM      Profile for Eric Nirome   Email Eric Nirome   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi, I'm Eric and I'm sort of new to projection. I've been working at a theater in Wichita, KS since June. And I've been in projection since October. They were going to make me Head Projectionist, but a spot opened up in management just last week. But even as a manager, I still deal with a lot of projection.

Now, for the past few weeks I've noticed a problem with one of our movies, The Tale of Desperaux. (sorry for the poor spelling) It always wrapped very tight on the tapeup, and it causes a bubble to form when removing the ring. Now, originally I thought it was a problem with the SPECO 270 in auditorium 13 since the platter was moving slow as the movie played. But we moved the movie to auditorium 2, and the same problem occurs. Now here's where it gets interesting. Auditorium 2 is a split screen with The Tale of Desperaux and Bolt, and Bolt's takeup is just fine. Does anyone know what could possibly cause this to happen?

|  IP: Logged

James Westbrook
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted 01-29-2009 02:58 AM      Profile for James Westbrook   Email James Westbrook   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Try swapping out the platter rings.

John Wilson
Film God

- posted 01-29-2009 03:14 AM      Profile for John Wilson   Email John Wilson   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
When you say it bubbles, do you mean it rises up around the ring as it gets more film on the plate?

Monte L Fullmer
Film God

- posted 01-29-2009 05:07 AM      Profile for Monte L Fullmer   Email Monte L Fullmer   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post