Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Will a CP-200 without a cat 160 card output anything?

Author Topic: Will a CP-200 without a cat 160 card output anything?
Sean Weitzel
Jedi Master Film Handler

- posted 10-28-2008 10:54 PM      Profile for Sean Weitzel   Email Sean Weitzel   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I am assembling the sound rack in my home screening room. The CP-200 I acquired several months ago is stock (with cat 22's and all) and has all the cards except the Cat 160 optical bass extension card is missing. (anyone got a spare cheap?) If I power this baby up without this card will I get any sound out of it at all or is this card a requirement to complete the signal path? Sorry in advance for the newbie-ish question. I'm not a pro cinema tech and this is my first exposure to a real dolby audio processor.

|  IP: Logged

Sam D. Chavez
Film God

- posted 10-28-2008 11:11 PM      Profile for Sam D. Chavez   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I have not looked at the block diagram in a while, but you will get no optical analog sound without one. Optical sound will work in bypass after a fashion.

I have a bunch of them in my piles of stuff. Name you price, wine, popcorn, whatever.

Sean Weitzel
Jedi Master Film Handler

- posted 10-28-2008 11:46 PM      Profile for Sean Weitzel   Email Sean Weitzel   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
If you are still up in Martinez, I will hand deliver a bottle of your favorite wine in exchange for one good sir! [Smile] send me an email through the forum.

Darko Milev
Film Handler

- posted 11-01-2008 04:54 AM      Profile for Darko Milev   Email Darko Milev   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Mr.Martinez,