Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Scratching Prints 911! (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: Scratching Prints 911!
Christain Van Norden
Film Handler

- posted 08-16-2008 03:26 PM      Profile for Christain Van Norden   Email Christain Van Norden   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hey Everyone, I am a booth manager for my theater and since we opened (over a month ago) we have scratched almost every print to roll through our projectors. Now, I have never before in my life seen nor dealt with scratched prints. The issue has been getting slightly better but it's still there. I am completely out of ideas of how the can be scratching almost every print, most of which being vertical scratches and the occasional horitzonals (which I believe can only come from the platters) I have searched high and low for a solution and what could possibly be causing this but I cannot seem to find any. I check film paths about 56,995 times a day and only seem to find the scratches after it's too late and the damage is done. I don't want to have to use film guard 4 or 5 times to every print rather than just solve the issue firsthand. does anyone have and ideas or experience with this issue and what I could do to solve it? My job is on the line here and I have to fix this asap. thank you very much..

christian

(btw, we use century projector heads and cristie a3s)

|  IP: Logged

Mike Blakesley
Film God

- posted 08-16-2008 04:32 PM      Profile for Mike Blakesley   Author's Homepage   Email Mike Blakesley   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
If your cinema is only a month old I would bet the film is "dragging" across something somewhere.

Check for a stopped roller, or maybe a platter paying out too slowly causing the film to drag on the guide posts.