Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » showing a silent movie right before Batman? (Page 1)

This topic comprises 7 pages: 1  2  3  4  5  6  7 

Author Topic: showing a silent movie right before Batman?
Ralph Martin
Film Handler

- posted 07-16-2008 02:22 AM      Profile for Ralph Martin   Email Ralph Martin   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I’m a high school music teacher who wants to have our orchestra accompany a silent film in a 16-plex movie theater in our town. The facility is only about 8 years old and as you would expect, is not set up to run a silent film. The movie is Wings (1927) and is a full frame 35mm print that will run fine at 24fps.

Their projector in their biggest auditorium is a Century SA-TA with a 2-lens automatic turret. I don’t know the throw or the exact screen size at this point. They are checking this for me.

As you may guess I’m not an expert in these matters, but it’s up to me to purchase or get my hand on any lens or aperture plate needed to give the movie the nice presentation it deserves. And of course anything they do to alter the projector will have to be removed in time to show the next picture (You know, like the new Batman movie or something like that) within about an hour or so. [Roll Eyes]

Any thought on this???

The kids are excited about the project. They have the musical score just about ready and the first screening date is August 13. so I have to work fast.

|  IP: Logged

Andy Frodsham
Expert Film Handler

- posted 07-16-2008 03:45 AM      Profile for Andy Frodsham   Email Andy Frodsham   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post