Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Seeking information on old projector equipment (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: Seeking information on old projector equipment
Michael Kenney
Film Handler

- posted 06-23-2008 06:55 AM      Profile for Michael Kenney   Email Michael Kenney   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello. As this is my first official post on this forum, I think I should introduce myself. I am not a projectionist or cinema employee, but rather a person who is researching an old theater in his town. I am doing this in the hopes that we can someday save and restore the theater. For the time being, I am trying to research all I can about the theater and have that information on hand to produce a short documentary about it, the men behind it and it's history up until it closed it's doors officially in 1991.

As part of my research, I have been allowed access into the theater, and I have seen the projection equipment in the projection house. I've learned a lot over the course of the last couple of weeks, but *know* I still have a lot to learn.

A little of what I have learned is that the theater was built and opened for business on Christmas Eve, December 24th, 1913. Although built for both Vaudeville and movies, I don't believe the theater ever featured vaudeville acts, as all of it's advertising for much of it's early years only featured "photoplays" and movies. What kind of projection equipment would have been used back in 1913? I am not sure, but would love to hear suggestions. Sadly, information on projectors is limited online, and it's difficult to research.