Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » The stupid are spreading their stupidness (Page 1)

This topic comprises 7 pages: 1  2  3  4  5  6  7 

Author Topic: The stupid are spreading their stupidness
Brad Miller
Administrator

- posted 06-13-2008 04:05 PM      Profile for Brad Miller   Author's Homepage   Email Brad Miller       Edit/Delete Post 
Stupid people. You know what I am talking about. The kind of people who are so embedded into their ways that they simply cannot handle any form of change whatsoever, regardless of the validity of the argument presented to them. These are often the same sort of people sometimes referred to as "old coots" (not you Phil), that say things like "I've been doing it this way for 50 years" and won't even consider a superior method or procedure. Maybe it's because they are incapable of change, perhaps it is just stubbornness, an overall lack of not caring, or just being flat out stupid in general. Some of these people qualify as "stupid" just because they read something and fixated on it, taking it to ridiculous proportions. Regardless, the stupid are spreading their stupidness through their training of others.

Post your stupid people stories here so we can all be entertained by the sheer stupidity of some people out there. (Trainers beware, we are going to be talking about you!!!)

I'll start. I recently came across a theater that took threading patterns to a whole new level. The trainer is so fixated with "never let the emulsion side of the film touch any of the rollers", that these poor guys are being forced to thread the base side of the film on EVERY ROLLER, regardless of what sort of ridiculous twisting or film damage occurs.