Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » What is the proper loop size for a Century projector? (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: What is the proper loop size for a Century projector?
Justin Hamaker
Film God

- posted 05-06-2008 03:28 AM      Profile for Justin Hamaker   Author's Homepage   Email Justin Hamaker   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
It dawned on me tonight that I have never tried to find the proper "loop" size for a Century projector. I've been operating two of these machines for about 3 years. Prior to that I had always operated Simplex 1050s or Simplex Millenniums.

I understand the purpose of the loops and I know that too big can cause scratches too small can actually pull open gates. I have never had either problem on the two Centurys I operate, but I would like to know what is the proper size. I don't know the exact model, but looking through the manuals on FT, the MSC looks right.

|  IP: Logged

Sean McKinnon
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted 05-06-2008 06:18 AM      Profile for Sean McKinnon   Author's Homepage   Email Sean McKinnon   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I have found that you can set the top loop by opening the pad roller and loosely wrapping the film around it. I do the same thing with the bottom loop but make it a sprocket hole or two larger. I prefer smaller loops. A lot of co-workers over the years complained that I made my loops too small but my machines ran quieter, I had less threading problems, and never got those annoying "standing" scratches on any of the prints I ran. When I would come in on a day off I would see all the loops slapping around the top of the machines, getting scratched, and running louder than the engine on my old Camaro!

David Zylstra
Master Film Handler