Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » What's The Proper Way To Return A Print? (Page 1)

This topic comprises 4 pages: 1  2  3  4 

Author Topic: What's The Proper Way To Return A Print?
Jim Cassedy
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted 04-21-2008 10:57 AM      Profile for Jim Cassedy   Email Jim Cassedy   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I'm almost embrassed to ask this question.
> What it the proper/prefered way to re-attach head & tail leaders when returning a print?<

I've been projecting for over 30 years (carbon arcs, changevovers) but I've recently been forced to lower my standards and start working with xenon lamps and platters.
(That's a JOKE, guys! [Big Grin] )

Like all of you, I have received a prints wound heads out, tails out, emulsion in, emulsion out and with leaders 'attached' with every type of sticky substance known to man short of chewing gum. (if attached at all)

When re-attaching heads & tails, should it be a "full splice" (both sides) or tape-splice on only one side, to make things easier for the next guy? (assuming the "next guy" is not running reel-to-reel!)

Thanks

|  IP: Logged

Demetris Thoupis
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted 04-21-2008 11:06 AM      Profile for Demetris Thoupis   Email Demetris Thoupis   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
This tip shows some very usefull information (which most probably you already know) but it doesn't hurt refreshing our memories [Smile]

Building 101

Brad Miller
Administrator

- posted 04-21-2008 11:45 AM      Profile for Brad Miller   Author's Homepage   Email Brad Miller       Edit/Delete Post