Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » help with Super Simplex 35's

Author Topic: help with Super Simplex 35's
Tim McRae
Film Handler

- posted 03-12-2008 02:16 PM      Profile for Tim McRae   Author's Homepage   Email Tim McRae       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello! I'm a first time poster here, and relative newbie to the industry...

I recently purchased a small-town movie cinema that still uses two old Super Simplex 35's for projection. The previous cinema owners badly neglected the projection equipment, so I would like to overhaul the projectors, give them a thorough cleaning, and make sure everything is properly adjusted and focused.

The only problem is I'm a total newbie. I've tried searching the web (including film-tech) for manuals or instructions, but the few things I've found either don't seem to be very detailed or they assume a certain level of experience that I simply don't have. Either that, or they rely on scanned photos that are so dark and blurry I can't figure out what's what.

So I need help. I know this is probably a long shot, but does anyone out there have any good straight-forward instructions for servicing Super Simplex 35's, or could anyone provide advice or tips that might help me overhaul them? We are in a remote location so it's pretty much impossible to get an experienced service technician on-site to help.

Thanks.
Tim

|  IP: Logged

Martin McCaffery
Film God

- posted 03-12-2008 03:14 PM      Profile for Martin McCaffery   Author's Homepage   Email Martin McCaffery   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Check in the manuals section under this title
Simplex Super projector installation, maintenance and operation manual

Mark Gulbrandsen
Resident Trollmaster