Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Destroyed soundtrack on Beowulf

Author Topic: Destroyed soundtrack on Beowulf
James Badham
Film Handler

- posted 03-01-2008 10:31 AM      Profile for James Badham   Email James Badham   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi. I'm a member of a student cinema in the UK. We just recently screened a print of Beowulf that, although it looked fine on the screen, had an absolutely abysmal soundtrack. The dolby digital was a constant fail and the analogue had an extraordinarily high level of hiss, pumping and what sounded like distortion in loud sections (of which there are quite a few in Beowulf!), to the extent where it was almost unintelligible at times. Our next film played fine so I doubt it's anything seriously wrong with our equipment (Vic 5, CP65 with a DA20 for digital and a Cat. 701 sound head) but as the print didn't look seriously damaged on the screen I was just wondering what might cause such serious damage. I was also quite surprised that a print for such a recent film could get in such a bad state so quickly. Has anyone experienced anything similar? Is there any chance that such artefacts could be caused by our equipment or is there anything we could do to try and resolve such an issue if it cropped up again?

Thanks.

|  IP: Logged

Richard P. May
Expert Film Handler

- posted 03-01-2008 10:40 AM      Profile for Richard P. May   Email Richard P. May   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
It sounds (no pun intended) like the printing of the sound negative onto the print in the lab may have been faulty. If the negative was not in proper contact with the print film, the tracks would be out of focus, thus not play properly.