Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Soundhead added to silent projector

Author Topic: Soundhead added to silent projector
Andres Briano
Expert Film Handler

- posted 02-06-2008 11:02 AM      Profile for Andres Briano   Author's Homepage   Email Andres Briano   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello Community,

I have embarked myself on a task I have never done before, and I´d like to hear your opinions as well as your advice.

I am currently restoring an Ernemann III, and as you know, being from the late ´20s, that is a silent projector.

Projectors with sound always have a sprocket located right after the soundhead, for reading stability purposes. [Confused]

My questions are:

Is it possible to do without that sprocket?

Obvious as it may sound, there is no easy way to "insert" a new sprocket on to the projector.

Right now I´m looking into going from the soundhead straight down to the take up reel. This sounds shaky to say the least.

Has anyone done something like this before? If so, what are your recommendations?

Very thankfull (as always)
Andrés

|  IP: Logged

John Walsh
Film God

- posted 02-06-2008 12:26 PM      Profile for John Walsh   Email John Walsh   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
In the US, we would call that last sprocket on a sound projector, the ‘hold-back’ sprocket. As a practical matter, I would think you must have that sprocket, or something that takes it’s function, to read the analog sound. You could do without it if the sound system is digital, though.

Andres Briano
Expert Film Handler

- posted 02-06-2008 12:35 PM      Profile for Andres Briano   Author's Homepage   Email Andres Briano   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Thank you John. [thumbsup]
I wasn´t familiar with the term "hold-back sprocket".