Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » DTS-6D Playback System

Author Topic: DTS-6D Playback System
Thomas Moore
Film Handler

- posted 01-19-2008 09:46 PM      Profile for Thomas Moore   Author's Homepage   Email Thomas Moore   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
does anyone know the AVERAGE life span of the original cd-roms. I've been running them 4-5 showtimes daily for 9 years and now having problems with them cutting in and out of DTS. Thanks.

Tom

|  IP: Logged

Chris Slycord
Film God

- posted 01-19-2008 10:06 PM      Profile for Chris Slycord   Email Chris Slycord   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
With that much usage, 9 years is way higher than average from what I've seen.

BTW: If you purchase a replacement drive kit, it'll use a regular IDE DVDROM. So if those die, they could be replaced with any old IDE drive.

And there's also the option of using the same IDE-SCSI bridge as is used with the drive kit, plus purchasing your own drives. But in that case you'd have to find yourself replacement firmware for yourself (depending on which motherboard version you've got that would be the upgrade CD or an new ROM board chip).

Mark Gulbrandsen
Resident Trollmaster

- posted 01-19-2008 10:24 PM      Profile for Mark Gulbrandsen   Email Mark Gulbrandsen   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post