Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Projection Q&A

Author Topic: Projection Q&A
Peter David Bruce
Expert Film Handler

- posted 11-23-2007 05:04 PM      Profile for Peter David Bruce     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Ok, so im new to projection... learning fast!

How do you 'see' the xenon arc? i presumed i shouldlook for something in the bulb through the viewhole but nope.. i am probably being very naive with this.... a nice explanation would suffice!

Where is the rectifyer located (approx) and what does it do (precisely)?

Anybody know a surefire way to eliminate vertical movement of the frame when running a film? I adjust the frame tension straps with the side screw and this helps a fair bit, but on still scenes its still slightly bobbing away...
... Really after a still image.

Anybody know of any good brain units? We use bog standard lace-it-up-yourself ones that are simply a piece of metal with the rollers in the right place. Often we get loops of film caught up in it while doing ad/trailer changes... Is there a better brain unit I can check out? Its a constant battle against brain wraps and we have to stand by it and physically pull the film out of the way if it gets caught up....

Thanks everyone... ill use this topic to pose any future questions. As I say, im learning here and im going to have lots of questions!

Cheers
Peter

|  IP: Logged

Mark Gulbrandsen
Resident Trollmaster

- posted 11-23-2007 05:14 PM      Profile for Mark Gulbrandsen   Email Mark Gulbrandsen   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
"How do you 'see' the xenon arc? i presumed i shouldlook for something in the bulb through the viewhole but nope.. i am probably being very naive with this.... a nice explanation would suffice!"