Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Strong Xenon Power Supply (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: Strong Xenon Power Supply
Ian Bailey
Master Film Handler

- posted 12-21-2005 12:09 AM      Profile for Ian Bailey   Email Ian Bailey   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi
I have a Strong Xenon Switching Power supply(One of the newer models)No. 62-80109 which died on me today-no output.
I have very little experience with these at the moment.
Any suggestions on how to fault-find this unit?
I read in the manual that most faults require the unit to be returned to Strong-Is this the case with all faults??

|  IP: Logged

Monte L Fullmer
Film God

- posted 12-21-2005 12:29 AM      Profile for Monte L Fullmer   Email Monte L Fullmer   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Is this the one with the 4 green and 4 red LED lights, and does any of the red LED lights show up, especially the "module" light is luminated?

If so, a fuse has opened up inside, meaning that a diode has shorted out inside knocking the service out of this switcher.

Usually a power surge from your power source causes this switcher to do this - and I've replaced three of these compact switchers do to power surges..

Best thing is to install line surge protector breakers in your main panel to control this for you, since these switchers have basicially the same hardware configuration that is in our power supplies that powers our computers, only in a larger scale.

What happens is that your supplier will call on STRONG to send out a new switcher, then when you get that new switcher, you send the defective one back for credit in the same box as the new one came in - only you'll be charged from the supplier for the tradeout.