Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Rates for new installs? (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: Rates for new installs?
Richard Hamilton
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted 11-21-2005 06:07 AM      Profile for Richard Hamilton   Email Richard Hamilton   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I was just curious what the going rates were for new installations? I was talking to someone who offered me a set price per booth for some upcoming jobs. I have never done that before, i have always charged a daily rate. I am wondering how to handle the issue of any delays or extra costs involved.
Any input would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Rick

Oh yeah, I forgot to add, this would involve racking and wiring the soundrack on site.

|  IP: Logged

Louis Bornwasser
Film God

- posted 11-21-2005 06:23 AM      Profile for Louis Bornwasser   Author's Homepage   Email Louis Bornwasser   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
For over 30 years I charged a set rate. However, delays and unreasonable expectations have caused me to lose a lot of money/time. I no longer will quote a set rate because the owner then runs the other way and makes all delays "your problem." This way all problems are "our" problems and I get paid for the time, included wasted trips.

Regarding racking on site: It is inefficient and the job goes much better when done at the shop. That is where all tools, power equipment and small (important) parts are. (We prefab the booth equipment, wiring, sealtite, etc as far as we can off-site. If I can, I do A chain alignment and xenon/projector/lens alignment also.) Expense to stay at a hotel in a town 4 hours away covers all possible local wiring benefits.

John Walsh
Film God