Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Sound Warble Simplex XL (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: Sound Warble Simplex XL
Don Hallmark
Film Handler

- posted 11-17-2005 10:31 PM      Profile for Don Hallmark   Email Don Hallmark   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I have a bad warble that is really noticeable in all music. This projector has set for several years but I just replaced all of the bearing in the sound head and on the drum. Could the motor cause that and not show up in the picture? I am a newbie again so I am stumped.

[ 11-18-2005, 06:14 AM: Message edited by: Brad Miller ]

|  IP: Logged

Mark Gulbrandsen
Resident Trollmaster

- posted 11-17-2005 11:07 PM      Profile for Mark Gulbrandsen   Email Mark Gulbrandsen   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hopefully you utilized bearings on the sound drum that don't have any sort of seal on them. Any seal will put enopugh drag on the scanning drum so that it never quite reaches free wheeling film speed. Other than than the drum having some sort of drag on it from another place like the flywheel side there is little that would cause it. I assume you also overhauled the lateral guide roller as well and that it spins very freely..... Everything MUST spin like a top when you hand spin it and continue spinning. The sound drum should free spin for a minimum of 20 to 30 seconds after applied hand motion is removed.

As for bearings on the sprocket shaft... I highly reccomend bearings with rubber seals for longer life. Keeps things outside out of the bearing out of it and whats inside it in place!!

Could vaguely be belts that are excessively tight but if yours are the round tooth version that is highly unlikely. There should be about 1/4" to 3/8" slack on them.. at least.

Mark