Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Sandpaper strips on Christie platters

Author Topic: Sandpaper strips on Christie platters
Keith Rightmyer
Film Handler

- posted 10-17-2005 10:42 PM      Profile for Keith Rightmyer   Email Keith Rightmyer   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello folks! I'm new to the drive-in projection biz but I'll spare you my story for now. I've run projector for the last three weekends and have had a different experience with the platters every weekend. Each of our platters have four (4) strips of what seems to be sandpaper at angles.

-

I've already trimmed the edges on two of the platters as needed but one strip on platter 3 was scraping the bottom edge of the film practically the strips' entire length.

-

A kind gentleman on another forum said he had never seen [Eek!] this before so I thought I would share with you guys and seek ideas or suggestions. [Roll Eyes] Thanks in advance!

Keith

|  IP: Logged

John Pytlak
Film God

- posted 10-17-2005 10:48 PM      Profile for John Pytlak   Author's Homepage   Email John Pytlak   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I think someone put those strips on the platter in an attempt to keep laps from sticking together from "static cling", or to prevent the roll from sliding on a mistimed platter. The attempts I've seen used a rubbery no-slip surface, and NOT "sandpaper".

Since the advent of Kodak VISION Color Print Film with its proprietary conductive antistatic coating, static cling is much less of an issue today.

If those rough strips are indeed scuffing the film edge, they should be removed. Be sure to clean the platter surface of any residual adhesive.

Steve Scott
Phenomenal Film Handler