Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Film Handlers Manual

Author Topic: Film Handlers Manual
John Summers
Film Handler

- posted 10-13-2005 11:45 AM      Profile for John Summers   Email John Summers   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I am new to the movie business. I have bought a movie theatre and have been running it since March. I have gotten down the process of splicing because of what I have read here at this site. I am wondering if there is a film handlers manual out there that could help me be a better film handler. I have reported issues with prints to my distributor to let them know about a bad print. I thread in frame since I don't want to be adjusting the frame every time a put a print through the projector. I know there is a thread in this forum talking about ousting bad projectionists. I don't want to be one of them. Please provide any sources I can read so I can be a better film handler.

Thanks,
John Summers
Milaca Theatre

|  IP: Logged

Mike Blakesley
Film God

- posted 10-13-2005 12:08 PM      Profile for Mike Blakesley   Author's Homepage   Email Mike Blakesley   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Just read this forum every chance you get. There are hundreds of pages of great information here. (And a lot of crap, but it's pretty easy to tell the difference.) [Big Grin]

Get the manuals for all the equipment in your booth and read them.

Keep everything clean.

Push for installing film cleaner(s) in your booth if you don't have them already. The work they save, and the improvement they make to your presentation, make them worth the money.

You already thread in frame and report bad prints, so that gives you a head start over many industry veterans. Additionally, check these points: