Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » aperture plates and silent films

Author Topic: aperture plates and silent films
Scott Norwood
Film God

From: Boston, MA. USA (1774.21 miles northeast of Dallas)

- posted 09-27-2005 07:41 PM      Profile for Scott Norwood   Author's Homepage   Email Scott Norwood   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
It seems that I will be cutting plates this week for a full-aperture silent frame, which I have never done before. Is there a standard for this (or, better yet, a test film)? I have RP-40 and a Super-35 test loop, which (in theory) should give me what I need to get the approximate height and width, but is there something better?

I was planning on starting with undercut scope plates (this is for Simplex PR-1014s; I have extra new scope plates lying around adn I don't think Strong sells full-frame silent undercut plates, anyway),unless there is an easier way to do this. My intention is to use the backup scope lenses and realign the lamps as necessary to get even illumination.

|  IP: Logged

Louis Bornwasser
Film God

- posted 09-27-2005 08:18 PM      Profile for Louis Bornwasser   Author's Homepage   Email Louis Bornwasser   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
1. You will find your ppicture too small with scope backups. The scope height is higher than the silent. Of course the wide will be back to 1.33/1.37.

2. Remember the center of silent is center of film, not center of RP-40. Reaiming the projector is half the battle; the rest being lamp alignment.

3. Generally silent is considerably slower than 24 fps by a variable amount determined by the speed that the camera man happened to use. Good Luck!! Louis

Mathew Molloy
Master Film Handler