Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Formula for screen size / new member

Author Topic: Formula for screen size / new member
Mike Croaro
Master Film Handler

- posted 04-26-2005 11:49 PM      Profile for Mike Croaro   Email Mike Croaro   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi Folks:

Mike Craoro from Millbrae, CA here. I am new to the forum. I have been a memeber of the 16mm.com forum for a couple of years. I have been collecting 16mm films for about 10 years and have worked as a manager and projectionist in three theatres.

Is there some sort of formula for figuring out the proper screen size for an auditorium? Or does one simple "eye it" based on his or her own opinion?

Finally, is it my imagination or are the screens in today's Ultra modern multiplexes grossly oversized? There are times when I'm sitting in the last row and feel like I'm sitting up front.

Interested in the opinions of some of the forums members.

Thanks & look forward to becoming familiar with the different members.

Mike Craoro

|  IP: Logged

Monte L Fullmer
Film God

- posted 04-27-2005 03:32 AM      Profile for Monte L Fullmer   Email Monte L Fullmer   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
quote: Mike Croaro
Finally, is it my imagination or are the screens in today's Ultra modern multiplexes grossly oversized?
...Welcome to Film-Tech! This is THE site of sites for almost all of any sort of projection/technical information database that could be found.

Going back to your question above? It's called "a movie going experience" - people LOVE to go to the movies and they want to be entertained and have the experience of their lives. If you go to a special domed venue, that dome screen really take the breath away to some folks.