Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Sound Level Meter Recommendations?

Author Topic: Sound Level Meter Recommendations?
Joe Redifer
You need a beating today

- posted 03-13-2005 04:27 AM      Profile for Joe Redifer   Author's Homepage   Email Joe Redifer   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I have been using my analog Radio Shack meter for many years. But it seems longevity was not part of the original design.

-

Sometimes it works, most of the time it does not. Even with a fresh battery the needle will occasionally stick, not work at all, not respond to any changes in the settings (weighting, range, etc) and need to be whacked to wake up. Whenever I set it to BATTERY it never hesitates to respond, however.

This meter is supposedly fairly accurate and people do not like the digital version of this meter, as I've heard bad things about it. Does anyone have any recommendations on a comparably priced unit like this? Or any tips on how to get this thing working correctly again? I have a friend who has the same meter and his has the same symptoms as well.

|  IP: Logged

Phil Hill
I love my cootie bug

- posted 03-13-2005 04:37 AM      Profile for Phil Hill   Email Phil Hill       Edit/Delete Post 
While I have no suggestion for a replacement, I must say that mine still works great. It is a great SPL meter for a quick check.

It really is too bad that RS decided to discontinue that analog meter and make that POS digital version. Which I think is no longer available as well.

Michael Schaffer
"Where is the
Boardwalk Hotel?"

- posted 03-13-2005 05:50 AM      Profile for Michael Schaffer   Author's Homepage   Email Michael Schaffer   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
This SPL meter from Voltcraft
 -