Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Bad Judgement = Damaged Equipment = Destroyed Print = Cancelled Show (Page 1)

This topic comprises 4 pages: 1  2  3  4 

Author Topic: Bad Judgement = Damaged Equipment = Destroyed Print = Cancelled Show
Ever Gonzalez
Film Handler

- posted 12-18-2004 05:04 AM      Profile for Ever Gonzalez   Email Ever Gonzalez   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
So today I was at the other theatre helping with their 5 prints this morning. Came in about 5am to take care of these prints. I was screening "Spanglish" when the projectionist asked for one of us to come over to projector 13. I waited a little bit and the Manager that I have been training for the past 3 months decided to go on up. So I was just chillin and she then calls for me.

Great, now what?

I asked her what the problem was and she said that the tail got entangled or something. So I thought I was going to show her how to fix a simple tail wrap. I head on up and as I turn the corner from the distance of about 50 feet I see bundles and bundles of film on the top platter of 13! I was amazed at this sight of film everywhere. As I got closer I could smell something burning. I looked at the motor (Christie AW3 Platter System) I saw film entangled within it. I figured the smell was from the film being caught between the motor and the platter. I was speechless and then I looked a little closer and I could actually see smoke coming out of the area in the tree where all the cards that control the platters are located. I unscrewed the bolt and opened it up and my jaw dropped to the floor. All 3 platter cards were blown. The transformer and the wire harness was burned to hell! The projectionist basically blew the whole platter system!