Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Optimax II-S melted insulator plate!

Author Topic: Optimax II-S melted insulator plate!
Tommie Evans
Expert Film Handler

- posted 10-08-2004 01:54 AM      Profile for Tommie Evans   Email Tommie Evans   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi, I'm relatively new to the Strong Optimax II-S lamphouse.
Came in this morning to find the insulator plate (positive binding post) has atomised. Any suggestions on how this may have happened or how to prevent. All the connections were tight.
Specs: 4200W bulb running at 145amps 380/440v suffecient cooling.
The bulb still works from the switch underneath the lamphousing but the CNA200 automation 'lamphouse on/auto' switch is dead?
 -

|  IP: Logged

Leo Enticknap
Film God

- posted 10-08-2004 02:59 AM      Profile for Leo Enticknap   Author's Homepage   Email Leo Enticknap   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Interesting... Darren came across a similar problem with a Cinemeccanica lamphouse at a student film society place he was servicing. The symptom was that the lamp either wouldn't strike at all or went out within a few minutes. The problem turned out to be a ceramic insulator plate against a bulkhead through which the anode lead passed. It wasn't totally gone, but had eroded to the point of allowing the lead to short against the bulkhead. I presume the cause was either heat damage or the insulator plate being a duff one to start with.

Stephen Furley
Film God

- posted 10-08-2004 04:57 AM      Profile for Stephen Furley   Email Stephen Furley   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
quote: Tommie Evans
4200W bulb running at 145amps 380/440v
[Eek!]