Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Training Methods (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: Training Methods
Barbara Toriel
Film Handler

- posted 08-17-2004 09:48 AM      Profile for Barbara Toriel   Email Barbara Toriel   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I've been working in the projection booth for about 3 years now but I am more involved with maintenance and cleanliness of the booth and projectors and build up, than actual training. I can't honestly remember what I didn't understand when I first started out so I was wondering if anyone could suggest a comprehensive "training schedule" so I can have a couple booth techs up to par.

The budding projectionists generally have two training days with another projectionist (me) and then management throws them into the thick of it on a Saturday night. Current shifts are about 5 hours, the booth(s) are equipped with Christie Platters and Projector Heads, Christie Digital (for NCN Pre-show) nothing too complicated. Projectionists are also responsible for timely mylar changes and manual masking changes. 14-plex. All projectors equipped with SDDS, two of which use DTS for large-volume.

Ideally I want them to thread, clean, and have some basic troubleshooting knowledge. The scheduled showtimes are a little tight so I've applied thus cleaning schedule to adapt:

2 projectors (tree inclusive) must be cleaned THOROUGHLY each night
projectors should be blown before each show and gate bands should be cleaned if necessary

Someone had critiqued my training commenting that I was offering too much for the booth trainee and that I should cut down to threading. However I believe cleaning is very important and must be taught from the start.

|  IP: Logged

Leo Enticknap
Film God