Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum


Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | my password | register | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Manchurian Candidate (2004) SRD / DTS and occasionally SDDS

   
Author Topic: Manchurian Candidate (2004) SRD / DTS and occasionally SDDS
Brad Miller
Administrator

Posts: 17590
From: Plano, TX (36.2 miles NW of Rockwall)
Registered: May 99


 - posted 07-29-2004 09:30 PM      Profile for Brad Miller   Author's Homepage   Email Brad Miller       Edit/Delete Post 
Warning to all, reel 4 of the print I handled of Manchurian Candidate came with SDDS data on the edges. Since Paramount does not print in SDDS, this looks like a potential lab error. This reel could contain silence, audio from another movie, who knows??? Until such time that someone can verify what the data is on this reel (or prescreen your print), it might be best to turn the SDDS processor off or put it into bypass mode.

 |  IP: Logged

Bobby Henderson
"Ask me about Trajan."

Posts: 10538
From: Lawton, OK, USA
Registered: Apr 2001


 - posted 07-29-2004 11:07 PM      Profile for Bobby Henderson   Email Bobby Henderson   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
That ought to make the movie an adventure to watch at the nearest AMC stadium seated 'plex.

 |  IP: Logged

Mark J. Marshall
Film God

Posts: 3172
From: New Castle, DE, USA
Registered: Aug 2002


 - posted 07-30-2004 12:10 AM      Profile for Mark J. Marshall     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Wow, thats interesting. Can't wait to see if it's on our print.

 |  IP: Logged

Thomas Procyk
Phenomenal Film Handler

Posts: 1842
From: Royal Palm Beach, FL, USA
Registered: Feb 2002


 - posted 07-30-2004 01:50 AM      Profile for Thomas Procyk   Email Thomas Procyk   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I got "Two Brothers" like that:
SDDS Track on Reels 1 & 2, but clear edges on all the rest.
And yes, it was an actual track and not just cyan coloring on the edge. There was data.

=TMP=

 |  IP: Logged

Chris Hipp
Phenomenal Film Handler

Posts: 1462
From: Mesquite, Tx (east of Dallas)
Registered: Jul 2003


 - posted 07-30-2004 02:37 AM      Profile for Chris Hipp   Email Chris Hipp   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
My print of Two brothers was the same way. R1 had SDDS but dropped out continuosly throughout. R2 was fine then the rest had no SDDS.

 |  IP: Logged

Bill Gabel
Film God

Posts: 3873
From: Technicolor / Postworks NY, USA
Registered: Jan 2002


 - posted 07-30-2004 09:48 AM      Profile for Bill Gabel   Email Bill Gabel   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
The studio prints that I handled here in New York, had SDDS information and played well. The prints I had were not standard release prints.

 |  IP: Logged



All times are Central (GMT -6:00)  
Post New Topic  Post A Reply Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
 - Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:



Powered by Infopop Corporation
UBB.classicTM 6.3.1.2

The Film-Tech Forums are designed for various members related to the cinema industry to express their opinions, viewpoints and testimonials on various products, services and events based upon speculation, personal knowledge and factual information through use, therefore all views represented here allow no liability upon the publishers of this web site and the owners of said views assume no liability for any ill will resulting from these postings. The posts made here are for educational as well as entertainment purposes and as such anyone viewing this portion of the website must accept these views as statements of the author of that opinion and agrees to release the authors from any and all liability.

© 1999-2018 Film-Tech Cinema Systems, LLC. All rights reserved.