Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum


Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | my password | register | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Cat222 & Cat280T: Urgent questions!

   
Author Topic: Cat222 & Cat280T: Urgent questions!
Patrick A. Meister
Film Handler

Posts: 22
From: Switzerland
Registered: Aug 2003


 - posted 07-25-2004 02:34 PM      Profile for Patrick A. Meister   Email Patrick A. Meister   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello

1) I just built a small Dolby A Encoding Facility with a Cat222 Dual A-Type Card.
There is one question:
How is this card triggered? There are 3 connectors for NR On, Record/Play and Dolby Tone On. How many Volts do they need? +15V, -15V or +0V?

2) Well, I'd like to know, why there are 3 LED's on the Cat280 SR Card with Tape, Ref, Dolby Noise marked? What are they for and why doesnt this SR Card produce a DolbyTone when plugged in CP50 and the link for it is set? Is there a possibility to re-solder the cards to studio-cards? (encoding possible)

Kind Regards
Patrick

 |  IP: Logged

Gordon McLeod
Film God

Posts: 9431
From: Toronto Ontario Canada
Registered: Jun 99


 - posted 07-25-2004 03:23 PM      Profile for Gordon McLeod   Email Gordon McLeod   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
"hy doesnt this SR Card produce a DolbyTone"
Because to distinguish between A type and SR mags dolby uses Dolby Noise as a level ref for SR rather than Dolby Tone which is used for A type

 |  IP: Logged

Patrick A. Meister
Film Handler

Posts: 22
From: Switzerland
Registered: Aug 2003


 - posted 07-25-2004 03:38 PM      Profile for Patrick A. Meister   Email Patrick A. Meister   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello

Ah ok...I see
Is this "Noise Producing" thing only working in Studio SR racks? Cuz I can't hear any sound when I connect the two "Tone-Connectors" used to kick out the A-Tone with the Cat22s in my CP50.

Well...when the RefTone is a Noise on SR, how to measure...? With this REF LED??? How does this work?

Is it possible to resolder the Cards to studiocards? now they are fixed into Decoding...

 |  IP: Logged



All times are Central (GMT -6:00)  
Post New Topic  Post A Reply Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
 - Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:



Powered by Infopop Corporation
UBB.classicTM 6.3.1.2

The Film-Tech Forums are designed for various members related to the cinema industry to express their opinions, viewpoints and testimonials on various products, services and events based upon speculation, personal knowledge and factual information through use, therefore all views represented here allow no liability upon the publishers of this web site and the owners of said views assume no liability for any ill will resulting from these postings. The posts made here are for educational as well as entertainment purposes and as such anyone viewing this portion of the website must accept these views as statements of the author of that opinion and agrees to release the authors from any and all liability.

© 1999-2018 Film-Tech Cinema Systems, LLC. All rights reserved.