Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum


Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | my password | register | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Bourne Supremacy in & out of digital in DTS (Page 1)

 
This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 
 
Author Topic: Bourne Supremacy in & out of digital in DTS
Rick Mort
Film Handler

Posts: 8
From: Post Falls, Idaho, united states
Registered: Jul 2004


 - posted 07-24-2004 10:01 PM      Profile for Rick Mort   Email Rick Mort   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
The copy of bourne supremacy that i have wont stay in digital. Some reels will play in digital and others won't. I have a dts-6AD processor and when its not play in digital the system status says that the serial# is bad. I was basically wondering if there was anything I can do to fix this. Any help will be appreciated, thax.

 |  IP: Logged

Michael Schaffer
"Where is the
Boardwalk Hotel?"

Posts: 4143
From: Boston, MA
Registered: Apr 2002


 - posted 07-24-2004 10:16 PM      Profile for Michael Schaffer   Author's Homepage   Email Michael Schaffer   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
The system has trouble reading the timecode. The first step is to check the reader LED voltage. You will find the instructions on how to do this on the home page of this website, near the bottom of the page.

 |  IP: Logged

Darryl Spicer
Film God

Posts: 3250
From: Lexington, KY, USA
Registered: Dec 2000


 - posted 07-25-2004 02:24 AM      Profile for Darryl Spicer     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I noticed on our print that the Dolby Digital Error rates were running pretty high. 5.5 and 6.5 instead of 2's and 3's that I have seen. I have notice and has been discused in other threads that Universal prints seem to have this problem a lot.

 |  IP: Logged

Dominic Espinosa
Phenomenal Film Handler

Posts: 1172
From: Boulder Creek, CA.
Registered: Jan 2004


 - posted 07-25-2004 03:44 AM      Profile for Dominic Espinosa   Email Dominic Espinosa   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I got a green print of Bourne and it was pre-scratched for me.
5 feet right in the middle of the 5th reel.

 |  IP: Logged

Steven Jantzen
Film Handler

Posts: 30
From: goodwell, Oklahoma, USA
Registered: Jul 2004


 - posted 07-27-2004 05:27 PM      Profile for Steven Jantzen   Email Steven Jantzen   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
about the post....

I received a copy of the bourne supremacy too, and as well, it would not switch over to digital. Unless, the processor was restarted, and even then, it would take 10 to 15 minutes well into the show before it would kick over. I was able to fix it by switching out the DTS trailer discs

A coworker and I narrowed it down to a bad DTS trailer disc

 |  IP: Logged

Chris Trainor
Expert Film Handler

Posts: 161
From: Greenville, RI, USA
Registered: Jun 99


 - posted 07-28-2004 01:50 PM      Profile for Chris Trainor   Author's Homepage   Email Chris Trainor   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Interesting, I saw this movie at the local Showcase this past weekend and it seemed that during one reel it kept dropping out of digital. not sure which reel (since I was an audience member) but it was during the first half of the film.

I wonder if there was a printing problem.

--chris

 |  IP: Logged

Steven Jantzen
Film Handler

Posts: 30
From: goodwell, Oklahoma, USA
Registered: Jul 2004


 - posted 07-28-2004 03:21 PM      Profile for Steven Jantzen   Email Steven Jantzen   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
It could be a printing problem, but on my print, just switching out the DTS trailer discs, one for one from the same week seemed to cure the problem. Haven't had any problems whatsoever. One thing i have noticed, with every new print we get in each week, we always seem to have one bad trailer disc. OR, one print won't run right so we have to switch the discs. I've had some prints where it wouldn't switch over to digital unless we used an older trailer disc, even into the show. [sleep]

 |  IP: Logged

Michael Schaffer
"Where is the
Boardwalk Hotel?"

Posts: 4143
From: Boston, MA
Registered: Apr 2002


 - posted 07-28-2004 08:16 PM      Profile for Michael Schaffer   Author's Homepage   Email Michael Schaffer   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
That is very weird. What state the trailer disc is in shouldn't make any difference. In addition to the LED calibration I pointed to above, you should also check the TC software version. If you look up the TEAC CD-ROM upgrade installation instructions, you will find a picture and explanation of what and where the TC chip is. Basically it is a small chip with a label which indicates the version like e.g. v1.52. If you have an older TC chip, you can get a replacement from DTS for free (I think).

 |  IP: Logged

Daryl C. W. O'Shea
Film God

Posts: 3977
From: Midland Ontario Canada (where Panavision & IMAX lenses come from)
Registered: Jun 2002


 - posted 07-29-2004 02:03 AM      Profile for Daryl C. W. O'Shea   Author's Homepage   Email Daryl C. W. O'Shea   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I've had the trailer disc cause problems (many times) before too. You're right the Mike, it shouldn't, but it does. Whoever designed the DTS processors must be on crack.

 |  IP: Logged

Michael Schaffer
"Where is the
Boardwalk Hotel?"

Posts: 4143
From: Boston, MA
Registered: Apr 2002


 - posted 07-29-2004 03:11 AM      Profile for Michael Schaffer   Author's Homepage   Email Michael Schaffer   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Interesting. I have never come across that problem. Is it dependent on where you load the discs? It may have something to do with an earlier TC software version which had some problems (of course I don't remember which version that was).

 |  IP: Logged

Daryl C. W. O'Shea
Film God

Posts: 3977
From: Midland Ontario Canada (where Panavision & IMAX lenses come from)
Registered: Jun 2002


 - posted 07-29-2004 03:15 AM      Profile for Daryl C. W. O'Shea   Author's Homepage   Email Daryl C. W. O'Shea   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
It might have been fixed in an update. It's been awhile since I've seen the problem. Regardless, I usually have people remove the trailer disc and reboot the processor whenever I get a call to troubleshoot weird DTS problems.

 |  IP: Logged

Antonio Marcheselli
Phenomenal Film Handler

Posts: 1260
From: Florence, Italy
Registered: Mar 2000


 - posted 07-29-2004 05:23 AM      Profile for Antonio Marcheselli   Author's Homepage   Email Antonio Marcheselli   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
The three CDrom drives are on the same chain, if one has problem loading a trailer disk it is not uncommon that all the three drives are locked during the tries.

I have the same behaviour on my two SCSI cd on my PC at least! [Smile]

Bye
A

 |  IP: Logged

Daryl C. W. O'Shea
Film God

Posts: 3977
From: Midland Ontario Canada (where Panavision & IMAX lenses come from)
Registered: Jun 2002


 - posted 07-29-2004 05:32 PM      Profile for Daryl C. W. O'Shea   Author's Homepage   Email Daryl C. W. O'Shea   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
True, if the disc can't be read it can tie up the SCSI bus. However I've had trailer discs that (seem to) read fine but cause problems nonetheless.

 |  IP: Logged

Steven Jantzen
Film Handler

Posts: 30
From: goodwell, Oklahoma, USA
Registered: Jul 2004


 - posted 07-29-2004 05:47 PM      Profile for Steven Jantzen   Email Steven Jantzen   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
quote: Daryl C. W. O'Shea
True, if the disc can't be read it can tie up the SCSI bus. However I've had trailer discs that (seem to) read fine but cause problems nonetheless.
same here [Razz]

 |  IP: Logged

Rick Mort
Film Handler

Posts: 8
From: Post Falls, Idaho, united states
Registered: Jul 2004


 - posted 07-29-2004 10:50 PM      Profile for Rick Mort   Email Rick Mort   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I ended up replacing the disc's yesterday and haven't had any problems with the sound since. So I guess it was just bad disc's. thax for the help.

 |  IP: Logged



All times are Central (GMT -6:00)
This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 
 
Post New Topic  Post A Reply Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
 - Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:



Powered by Infopop Corporation
UBB.classicTM 6.3.1.2

The Film-Tech Forums are designed for various members related to the cinema industry to express their opinions, viewpoints and testimonials on various products, services and events based upon speculation, personal knowledge and factual information through use, therefore all views represented here allow no liability upon the publishers of this web site and the owners of said views assume no liability for any ill will resulting from these postings. The posts made here are for educational as well as entertainment purposes and as such anyone viewing this portion of the website must accept these views as statements of the author of that opinion and agrees to release the authors from any and all liability.

© 1999-2018 Film-Tech Cinema Systems, LLC. All rights reserved.