Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Platter Keeps Tossing Prints (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: Platter Keeps Tossing Prints
Jacob Szewczyk
Film Handler

- posted 07-16-2004 05:38 PM      Profile for Jacob Szewczyk   Email Jacob Szewczyk   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi, once again, I have a problem with the piece of [bs] platters at my thearter. We're using CFS Super Platters, and on one particular platter, the last reel of about every movie on it eaither gets tossed of comes very close to falling off the platter. Whats causing this?

|  IP: Logged

Will Kutler
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted 07-16-2004 05:48 PM      Profile for Will Kutler   Email Will Kutler   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I have no personal experience with the CFS platters, but from what I hear they are not too well liked.

What you are experiencing is a STATIC ELECTRICITY problem! Solutions for this problem have been beaten to death in other threads...but here's a recap:

Ensure your platter is properly grounded in the electrical outlet.

The use of aluminum rollers such as what Christie has done with their pay-out heads.

Using FILM-GUARD!

Some have also lightly sprayed the top of the print with A LIGHT COAT of ant-static clothing spray.

Using the platter rings that Brad now has.

Also ensuring the platter is properly timed and operating smoothly!

Jack Ondracek
Film God

- posted 07-16-2004 06:20 PM      Profile for Jack Ondracek   Author's Homepage   Email Jack Ondracek   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
A CFS platter can get out-of-time just as easily as a Strong.