Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum


Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | my password | register | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Strong switcher and high lite 2.

   
Author Topic: Strong switcher and high lite 2.
Kyle Watkins
Expert Film Handler

Posts: 185
From: Stuart, FL, USA
Registered: Sep 2001


 - posted 07-16-2004 12:39 AM      Profile for Kyle Watkins   Email Kyle Watkins   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Were is the current adjustment on this power supply. i look all over, were is it hiding.

 |  IP: Logged

Mike Pennell
Expert Film Handler

Posts: 150
From: Tucson, AZ, USA
Registered: Apr 2003


 - posted 07-16-2004 01:38 AM      Profile for Mike Pennell   Email Mike Pennell   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
There is usually a remote potentiometer that comes out of the switcher via a 15pin "computer" plug/harness. Locate where the wires come out of the switcher on the right and follow the wire that has the "computer" plug. The other end is pretty small and easy to overlook. You just need a screwdriver to make the adjustment. Clockwise increases. Its usually mounted near the lamphours [beer]

 |  IP: Logged

Ken Lackner
Phenomenal Film Handler

Posts: 1855
From: Atlanta, GA, USA
Registered: Sep 2001


 - posted 07-16-2004 01:42 AM      Profile for Ken Lackner   Email Ken Lackner   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
It is on the console, not on the power supply. There is a potentiometer on the operator side of the console, below the hour meter and indicator lights. Insert a flat-blade screwdriver and turn clockwise to increase current, CCW to decrease.

It is item 10 in the diagram on page 2 of the manual.

 |  IP: Logged

Chris Hipp
Phenomenal Film Handler

Posts: 1462
From: Mesquite, Tx (east of Dallas)
Registered: Jul 2003


 - posted 07-16-2004 03:07 AM      Profile for Chris Hipp   Email Chris Hipp   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
IT should also be noted that most have two potentiometers. One is inside the power supply, lift up the black plugs on the top to get to it, this is the coarse adjuster. the fine adjuster plugs in and should be right behind the operator side door.

 |  IP: Logged

Michael Schaffer
"Where is the
Boardwalk Hotel?"

Posts: 4143
From: Boston, MA
Registered: Apr 2002


 - posted 07-16-2004 07:47 AM      Profile for Michael Schaffer   Author's Homepage   Email Michael Schaffer   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
quote: Ken Lackner
It is on the console, not on the power supply. There is a potentiometer on the operator side of the console, below the hour meter and indicator lights.
And where do you think the cable on the potentiometer goes?
Chris and Mike are right: if you have one of the older black switchers, the 2 (fine and coarse) are under the lid of the compartment where the automation and DC cables are connected. You don't have to take the lid off, to access the pots you just have to peel the 2 round rubber covers off.
The newer switchers which are grey-green only have the one which connects to the termination panel with the 15pin. That panel is often hidden under a lid too, but the new ones only have 1 panel for everything, so you won't have to look for long.

 |  IP: Logged

Rick Long Jr
Expert Film Handler

Posts: 211
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: Jul 2000


 - posted 07-17-2004 10:56 AM      Profile for Rick Long Jr   Email Rick Long Jr   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
If your console has one of those stupid "constant illumination" devices, the current controls (one for flat, one for scope) are located on the controller board, which is usually located behind the non-op side lower door. Small blue trimpots.

 |  IP: Logged

Ken Lackner
Phenomenal Film Handler

Posts: 1855
From: Atlanta, GA, USA
Registered: Sep 2001


 - posted 07-17-2004 11:48 AM      Profile for Ken Lackner   Email Ken Lackner   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I know the pot is connected to the switcher. I was simply pointing out that it is located on the console, in case he was looking for it on the switcher.

 |  IP: Logged

Kyle Watkins
Expert Film Handler

Posts: 185
From: Stuart, FL, USA
Registered: Sep 2001


 - posted 07-17-2004 05:11 PM      Profile for Kyle Watkins   Email Kyle Watkins   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
thanks Ken, and yes it right there on the console, in front of your face. [Smile]

 |  IP: Logged



All times are Central (GMT -6:00)  
Post New Topic  Post A Reply Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
 - Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:



Powered by Infopop Corporation
UBB.classicTM 6.3.1.2

The Film-Tech Forums are designed for various members related to the cinema industry to express their opinions, viewpoints and testimonials on various products, services and events based upon speculation, personal knowledge and factual information through use, therefore all views represented here allow no liability upon the publishers of this web site and the owners of said views assume no liability for any ill will resulting from these postings. The posts made here are for educational as well as entertainment purposes and as such anyone viewing this portion of the website must accept these views as statements of the author of that opinion and agrees to release the authors from any and all liability.

© 1999-2018 Film-Tech Cinema Systems, LLC. All rights reserved.