Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » What happened to the color? (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: What happened to the color?
Peter Kerchinsky
Master Film Handler

- posted 05-10-2004 05:18 AM      Profile for Peter Kerchinsky   Email Peter Kerchinsky   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I just returned to work today and happened to glance a few minutes of NEW YORK MINUTE. Our print looked horrendous. It appeared to be completely washed out, as in watercolors! The first thing I noticed was no colors to faces on closeups, like all white or very pale looking. Some of the scenes appeared to be overlit or something. I'm not an expert at this but it looked really crappy. It almost appeared we had way too much light on the screen, which we don't, and it obliterated the color.
We're selling this crap to cash paying customers!
I realise this film is probably a one week wonder, but can't this industry do better? I thought Warners used Technicolor on most of their prints. This can't be on this one.
Honestly, this looked like a 10 year old faded Eastman print.
It's no wonder grosses are going down!
Probably made for cheap. [puke]

|  IP: Logged

Floyd Justin Newton
Jedi Master Film Handler

- posted 05-10-2004 06:59 AM      Profile for Floyd Justin Newton   Email Floyd Justin Newton   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
What's there to worry about? A print opens on a Friday, comes
out on DVD on Monday, and the print goes to recycle on Thursday
night!! THAT'S SHOWBIZ!!

fjn
Local 294 Ret.

Mike Williams
Master Film Handler

- posted 05-10-2004 09:33 AM      Profile for Mike Williams   Email Mike Williams   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post