Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Looking for some help with FM-35 failsafes

Author Topic: Looking for some help with FM-35 failsafes
Adam Witzel
Film Handler

- posted 03-03-2004 03:59 PM      Profile for Adam Witzel   Author's Homepage   Email Adam Witzel   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
first off, hi, my name is Adam Witzel, I am a projection manager for a 9 screen theater in california.

Anyways, i run component engineering FM-35 failsafes on all of my machines, but i cant seem to figure out its cue configuration. I got ahold of a partial manual, which states where the inboard, outboard and center cue's are supposed to be placed, but it does not specify what their fucntion is.

Basically, i want a cue at the end of my leader to start projector, i want one at the end of my last trailer to dim down side lights, one in the credits to bring up sidelights, and one at the very end to close dowser/turn off projector. 4 functions i need, but only 3 cue placements listed, and my manual didnt say what the inboard, outboard and center cues functions were, just where the should be placed on the film. not sure what to do. any help / feedback is much appreciated, thanks
-adam

|  IP: Logged

Carl Martin
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted 03-03-2004 04:17 PM      Profile for Carl Martin   Author's Homepage   Email Carl Martin   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
the cues don't have specific functions; that's determined by the automation it interfaces with. what automation do you have?

even though there are only 3 cue positions, you can combine them for a total of 7 cues (2^3-1).

carl

Randy Stankey
Film God

- posted 03-03-2004 05:25 PM      Profile for Randy Stankey   Email Randy Stankey   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post