Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Help with volume trouble from optical readers

Author Topic: Help with volume trouble from optical readers
Jeremy McBride
Film Handler

- posted 01-08-2004 04:55 PM      Profile for Jeremy McBride   Email Jeremy McBride   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I'm relatively new to the projection booth (about 1 year), and I have been rather roughly thrown into the position of chief as our previous projectionist left without much warning. I had a few months of side by side training with him, but of course, I'm still learning everyday. So anyway, on with my question.

On the particular projector in question (Strong Superhighlight II console, Century projector head) I have both a basement optical reader (Century, analog) and a dolby cat. 702 penthouse reader. The problem lies somewhere with the basement reader. Our policy logos do not have a digital track, so the sound reading duties drop down below for the minute or two of policy. When this happens, the volume level drops significantly. Almost muted. Even though it's just the elevator music that you suddenly can't hear, it's not very nice to the guests when the trailer or feature begins and the sound instantly jumps back to normal volume level. So I'm assuming something needs replacement- the light signal is not strong enough to be picked up properly? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

|  IP: Logged

Ken McFall
Jedi Master Film Handler

- posted 01-08-2004 05:18 PM      Profile for Ken McFall   Email Ken McFall   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
All films should be recorded so that the level is subjectivly the same between both formats, SRD and SR.