Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » C/S Image not in Middle of Screen

Author Topic: C/S Image not in Middle of Screen
Ian Bailey
Master Film Handler

- posted 12-26-2003 05:40 PM      Profile for Ian Bailey   Email Ian Bailey   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi Guys
This is my first Post(the first of many).I am new to Film-Tech and new to the industry(1 year).I am an owner,manager,film handler,Box Office person,choc top maker,cleaner etc etc.I congratulate the Film-Tech boys on a very informative and helpful site.
We have very similar gear in two of our auditoriums(both auditoriums are the same size)-Simplex 35 model 1050 projector with TU2000 turrets.The only difference being the C/S lens-one has a 1.8 scope lens and the other has a 1.7 scope lens(both have the same anamorphic).Since taking over we have never been able to get as sharp focus with the 1.7 lens as we can with the 1.8 lens,and from what the staff have told me this is a problem they have always had.I purchased an SMPTE Test Pattern loop and ran it through the 1.7 lens and found the image to be central on the screen in W/S but a fair distance of to one side of the screen in C/S.The aperture plate was obviously never cut very well as the image can be seen on the top and bottom masking and on the side masking which the image tends to be pointing towards.The way I see it as the C/S image is not central on the screen we will always have trouble getting sharp focus.Any ideas on how i can improve this situation?-due to my lack of experience I have not been game enough to swap the lens complete with each other to see if the fault is in the lens.

|  IP: Logged

Adam Martin
I'm not even gonna point out the irony.