Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Looking to improve a bad house (Page 1)

This topic comprises 3 pages: 1  2  3 

Author Topic: Looking to improve a bad house
Richard Greco
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted 11-19-2003 07:56 PM      Profile for Richard Greco   Email Richard Greco   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hey guys, I'm fairly new in the film handling profession (only 1 month). I have read multiple articles and posts relating to running a better show. My problem is that it seems that my manager has taught me ways differently from what I have seen here.

First off, let me tell you about the equipment that we use. It is a small 8-plex with 3 DTS theatres. We use Century "SA" model projectors, Speco Platters, Strong Power Supplys, and I think Xenolite lamp houses.

My typical procedure for threading is...
1)Remove the center ring
2)Place the ring on the take-up platter
3)Push the payout button on the payout platter
4)Thread through the rollers
5)Bypass the projector (The platters are all on the left of the projectors)
6)Thread through the takeup rollers to the take up platter
7)Thread the projector
8)Press the takeup button on the appropriate platter.

My problem with this is when I thread to bypass the projector, The leader 9/10 times lays on the floor. Any ideas on how to improve my threading?

Second, My manager rarely lets me build, when she does though, We never use gloves and if we need to rewind, we do it on another MUT. I'm not sure if this is right or not.

It seems that we seem to have a problem with rollers rubbing on film during operation. I move them, but the end up vibrating right back.