Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Smelly Xenon + Failure

Author Topic: Smelly Xenon + Failure
Michael Harlow
Expert Film Handler

- posted 09-06-2003 10:25 AM      Profile for Michael Harlow   Email Michael Harlow   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Ok, well i'm still new to this xenon thing, only having used them for 3 odd years, but recently i have had an Osram XBO2000W smelling like fish. We were running on about 70A with a good light, then today after 810 hours it didn't want to light. A replacement has been put in and no smell! any ideas why we only got 800hrs and what the smell was. We have an Irem N3 power supply and a peerless magnarc conversion. Ta!

|  IP: Logged

Pete Naples
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted 09-06-2003 10:37 AM      Profile for Pete Naples   Email Pete Naples   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Like Fish? Could be that a seal has failed and you're smelling the Xenon gas. The only smell usually associated with xenon lamps is the smell of hot metal from the lamphouse, maybe hot dust if the equipment isn't kept clean or hasn't been used in a while, and the slight puff of ozone as the lamp strikes, ozone smells like photocopiers/laser printers. Not fishy.

Stephen Furley
Film God

- posted 09-06-2003 10:55 AM      Profile for Stephen Furley   Email Stephen Furley   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post