Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Thx certification (Page 1)

This topic comprises 5 pages: 1  2  3  4  5 

Author Topic: Thx certification
Lakshman Thodla
Film Handler

- posted 07-02-2003 11:51 AM      Profile for Lakshman Thodla   Email Lakshman Thodla   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
hi,
this is my first post on film tech and though i am not a projectionist i love film sound and the overall presentation and
operation of film equipment .I live in Hyderabad India and have been reading these forums for over 3 years now and gained so much from all of you thank you very very much .

my question is
what is the difference between a THX certified theater and a THX compliant theater.

Ex-suppose a engineer who has tuned and optimised all the settings for a certfied THX theater in terms of acoustics equipment RTA analysis etc and applies all the same techniques in designing a auditorium and sound system and using the THX R2 analyser and all THX certified parts in the B chain will the results be similar or almost equal to a THX certified screen.

And is it possible to design a screen that meets or exceeds THX quality standards without actually getting the screen certified by THX .

Thanks
Lakshman

P.S a very warm hello to Brad,Antonio,Gorden,Karen from DTS (i love DTS )and all the other esteemed members.

|  IP: Logged

Aaron Sisemore
Flaming Ribs beat Reeses Peanut Butter Cups any day!

- posted 07-02-2003 01:20 PM      Profile for Aaron Sisemore   Email Aaron Sisemore   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
quote:
my question is what is the difference between a THX certified theater and a THX compliant theater.