Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Screen Aspect Ratio

Author Topic: Screen Aspect Ratio
Alex Aye
Film Handler

- posted 12-13-2002 01:58 PM      Profile for Alex Aye   Author's Homepage   Email Alex Aye   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi All!

I am a newbie here. So feel free to educate me. For commercial theaters, what can a film operator expect when the new reels arrive -- in terms of aspect ratio?

Are there precisely 2 or 3 formats that can be shown at any modern commercial theater? I have noticed that movie posters never advertise the aspect ratio even though there are several widescreen formats, where almost all of them appear to be a product of PanaVision.

Any difference when foreign films arrive? Or are they Americanized before they are distributed?

I do know, one thing, that is, there is no such thing as 16:9 in cinema. It is a HDTV standard which is fairly close to one of the cinema ratios like 1:1.835 or something.

Thanks ahead for your info...
Alex

|  IP: Logged

Adam Fraser
Master Film Handler

- posted 12-13-2002 02:06 PM      Profile for Adam Fraser   Author's Homepage   Email Adam Fraser   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Modern American films come in 2 standard aspect ratios.
"Flat" 1.85:1
"Scope" 2.39:1 Requires a cinemascope (anamorphic) lens to "unsqueeze" the image.

Joe Beres
Jedi Master Film Handler

- posted 12-13-2002 02:06 PM      Profile for Joe Beres   Email Joe Beres   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hey Alex, Welcome!

As far as mainstream American film is concerned, there are two aspect ratios that you will see: 1.85:1 and 2.39:1 (Anamorphic/Cinemascope). Typically, those are the only two aspect ratios any mainstream commercial American theater is equiped to handle.