Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Strong Alpha Platter Motor (Page 1)

This topic comprises 3 pages: 1  2  3 

Author Topic: Strong Alpha Platter Motor
Dustin Mitchell
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted 11-13-2002 07:16 PM      Profile for Dustin Mitchell   Email Dustin Mitchell   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I have a dead platter motor on my Strong Alpha platter. Testing has confirmed it is indeed the motor and not a wiring problem with that deck. There is no response from the motor; ie, its not that its burning up and turning slowly, its just plain DEAD.

I'd like some advice on how to go about changing this motor. I've never done it before and our theatre tech is currently out in N. Dakota. Thanks in advance.

|  IP: Logged

Josh Jones
Redhat

- posted 11-13-2002 08:27 PM      Profile for Josh Jones   Author's Homepage   Email Josh Jones   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Who performs your service, If you dont mind my asking?

Josh

P.S. Never had a strong alpha platter so I don't know

Steve Kraus
Film God

- posted 11-13-2002 08:34 PM      Profile for Steve Kraus     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Have you checked the brushes?

Brad Miller
Administrator

- posted 11-13-2002 08:36 PM      Profile for Brad Miller   Author's Homepage   Email Brad Miller       Edit/Delete Post 
It's been too long for me to be able to draw a picture, but I do remember the procedure is pretty simple. Whatever you do, if you opt for a new motor make SURE that you "time" it! If all 3 platters don't spin at right at the same speed, you're looking to make a frisbee out of your films.

Dustin Mitchell
Phenomenal Film Handler