Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Short throw Anamorphic Focus

Author Topic: Short throw Anamorphic Focus
Don Furr
Jedi Master Film Handler

- posted 11-12-2002 10:25 PM      Profile for Don Furr   Email Don Furr   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Which anamorphic lens will focus at 10 feet besides a Schneider.
I'm using a loner pair but at $750 a pop I need to find another lens.

|  IP: Logged

Paul G. Thompson
The Weenie Man

- posted 11-12-2002 10:51 PM      Profile for Paul G. Thompson   Email Paul G. Thompson   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Not too many will that I know of. Sankor maybe? I have heard some will, but I have no firm experience to back that statement up.

Aaron Sisemore
Flaming Ribs beat Reeses Peanut Butter Cups any day!

- posted 11-13-2002 12:53 AM      Profile for Aaron Sisemore   Email Aaron Sisemore   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
You can modify B&L anamorphics to focus that close, if you want to do it on the cheap...

-Aaron

Jeff Stricker
Master Film Handler

- posted 11-13-2002 06:48 AM      Profile for Jeff Stricker   Email Jeff Stricker   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I have adapted a 16mm Sankor 16D anamorphic to a 3 1/2 inch Kolmorgen (35mm) prime lens. (I used some PVC plumbing hardware and some elbow grease with files and other hand tools to accomplish this!) I can focus down to the limit of the Sankor, which is 2 meters.

Josh Jones
Redhat

- posted 11-13-2002 04:25 PM      Profile for Josh Jones   Author's Homepage   Email Josh Jones   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
For those of us who have forgotten(namely me) how do you modify the old B&L lenses for short throw?

JJ

------------------
"Film is made of silver, video is made of rust"
'nuf said

Dan Lyons