Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Timing CFS super platters

Author Topic: Timing CFS super platters
Andy Muirhead
Master Film Handler

- posted 07-22-2002 08:08 PM      Profile for Andy Muirhead   Email Andy Muirhead   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
All my platters in my 4 screen are those infamous blue CFS Super Platters. I've been working with those bitches for about 6 years now, so I know them pretty well. The thing that bothers me is the timing procedure in the manual. Surely there is a better procedure for timing these platters than this. Basically it involves sticking bits of tape to each deck, then guessing if the centre deck revolves within 3-4 seconds, then adjusting the other decks to the same speed, etc..

It's a joke, it must be. The manual is here on film-tech, in the manuals section under platters, then CFS super platter. The section in the manual regarding timing is 3.4

There must be a better way of timing these platters. They are running great just now, but I'd rather get the knowledge now, just in case!

Hopefully Paul, you may help, From an earlier post of yours I removed those awkward roller arms from the MUT's, I never use the top or bottom decks for mk/up breakdown either!

|  IP: Logged

Aaron Sisemore
Flaming Ribs beat Reeses Peanut Butter Cups any day!

- posted 07-22-2002 09:19 PM      Profile for Aaron Sisemore   Email Aaron Sisemore   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
All that is really required to 'time' a Blue Super Platter or a NSP-3 is to make sure that the microswitch operates with a minimum of payout arm throw, and that the rubber on the rollers is firmly gripping the platter decks without excessive tension or slippage. The 'timing with tape' method is ludicrous.