Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Finding the frameline in the end credits (Page 1)

This topic comprises 4 pages: 1  2  3  4 

Author Topic: Finding the frameline in the end credits
Michael Brown
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted 03-20-2002 10:06 AM      Profile for Michael Brown   Email Michael Brown   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I refer to standard end credits with white scrolling text on a black background.

I am not good at this at all . I hope there is sume hidden nack to getting it right. There was an out of rack splice in the end credits of The Prince of Egypt, (there was about 4 or 5 spliced through out the credits, don't know what the last cinemas had done to it) Anyway one of them through the credits out of rack. I think it was the nearest splice to the end. I tried to repair it. But i'm not sure if i was sucessfull.

|  IP: Logged

John Hawkinson
Film God

- posted 03-20-2002 10:33 AM      Profile for John Hawkinson   Email John Hawkinson   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I'll bet there are better techniques than these, but here are 4 alternatives:

1. Use a frame counter or sync block and start counting from somewhere that the frameline is visible.
  2. Inspect the frames closely until you can find a frame where the text scrolling off the screen is very clearly cut off halfway through a line. This is either the top or the bottom of the frame, and hopefully you can figure it out as appropriate.