Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Multimeters in the booth (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: Multimeters in the booth
Ken Lackner
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted 02-02-2002 01:27 PM      Profile for Ken Lackner   Email Ken Lackner   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Do any of you use a multimeter for any work in the booth? I supposed this would a apply more to the techs than the projections. But I want to be a tech, which is why I am currently studying electronics.

I went to Grainger to check out what kind of meters are available. I just wanted to get an idea of what's out there and the prices. The guy said he couldn't even begin to help me with selecting one unless I knew exactly what I needed it for - what measurements I would be taking and what ranges I would be using. So, what do you guys use your DMM's for?

About brand names. I know Fluke is really good. Are there others? Are there any to avoid? I'm currently looking at the Wavetek Meterman models 35 XL (almost sounds like a Simplex projector, eh? ) and the 2015 because I can get a good educational discount on those. Anybody know anything about these two meters? Thanks in advance for your help.

------------------
This one time, at Projection Camp, I stuck a xenon bulb....

|  IP: Logged

Will Kutler
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted 02-02-2002 01:37 PM      Profile for Will Kutler   Email Will Kutler   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Flukes are about the best you can buy. Personally, I have always prefered anaglog meters. And do not forget the amperage/current attachment!

Yes, a multimeter is definatly great to have in the booth! Cna be used to troubleshoot any electrical problem...but you must know how to use one correctly!