Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Speco LP-270 Platter Trouble

Author Topic: Speco LP-270 Platter Trouble
Michael J. Barr
Film Handler

- posted 01-29-2002 10:48 PM      Profile for Michael J. Barr   Email Michael J. Barr   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
The bottom platter keeps on locking up (refusing to budge) every once in a while. I am new to these platters since I just transferred here, so I would like some suggestions on what to look for. Currently, we are not using the platter in fear that it will lock up again sometime mid-show. Anyone have suggestions?

|  IP: Logged

Wes Hughes
Expert Film Handler

- posted 01-29-2002 11:34 PM      Profile for Wes Hughes   Email Wes Hughes   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
The deck bearings might be damaged. I have seen this happen if someone trys to lift the platter deck off the spindle improperly...ie they lift the top bearing off the spindle and then lean the deck to the side. That will break the bearing race and could cause your seizing problem.

These bearings are easy enough to replace...first check to make sure its actually the deck bearings though....when it seizes up, pull the motor away from the disk and see if it is the disk that is stuck, or the drive motor shaft.

Darryl Spicer
Film God

- posted 01-30-2002 10:00 AM      Profile for Darryl Spicer     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Never remove a platter deck from a speco and think you can put it on another shaft. The older specos had the platter decks matched to the shaft and were numbered for instalation. If a deck has bee swapped with another deck someplace else the shafts may not be matched causing it to bind up. I have never encountered this problem before with a speco and I have been working with them for 10 years now.