Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Documentary Film on Projectionists

Author Topic: Documentary Film on Projectionists
Gabriel Rhodes
Film Handler

- posted 06-11-2001 11:21 AM      Profile for Gabriel Rhodes   Email Gabriel Rhodes   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Greetings,
I am an independent documentary filmmaker from New York City and I have recently become very interested in documenting the behind-the-scenes world of theaters and projectionists.

I think that this point of time is a very interesting one for your craft and I am eager to hear what you, as projectionists, feel like the future holds for film projection. I would like to make a case for projection as an art form-one that is in danger of being lost- and I would like to profile some of the colorful and creative people who are trying to preserve and protect this mass medium form of entertainment.

I am obviously still in the development stage of this project, but I am scheduled to do some preliminary shooting the third week of July and begin fundraising shortly after that. The film could best be described as "Cinema Paradiso" meets "American Movie".

I am looking for more characters for the film. In particular I am looking for theater owners and projectionists who love to talk about their craft and have a deep understanding and sense of its history and its future. If you feel like you fit this description or if you know someone that you feel I should speak to, I would greatly appreciate it if you would contact me by email. Any assistance you have to offer would be greatly appreciated.
gaberhodes@earthlink.net
Sincerely,
Gabriel Rhodes

|  IP: Logged

Randy Loy
Expert Film Handler