Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Perkin Elmer reflectors

Author Topic: Perkin Elmer reflectors
Gordon McLeod
Film God

- posted 03-29-2001 01:59 PM      Profile for Gordon McLeod   Email Gordon McLeod   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I recieved a note today that perkins elmer (the makers of those wonderfull asian xenon lamps formerly known as ORC) are in the replacement reflector market
They show a replacement dichroic for the Super Lumex and Ultra 80 Strong lamphouses
I was wondering if there is any feed back on them. Dichroic coatings on reflectors is dificult at best so I wonder how good they are and where they are being made.
I have had some bad experiences in the past with dichroic reflectors from China in the past so I hope that is not their source

|  IP: Logged

John Eickhof
Jedi Master Film Handler

- posted 03-30-2001 01:29 AM      Profile for John Eickhof   Author's Homepage   Email John Eickhof   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Gordon, I believe that PE owns the company 'NiOptics' or something simular, they are in southern California, and are the ones that made all of ORC's reflectors originally! They originated the 'Electroplating' of the optical coatings for many medical and industrial applications. I believe they are the jobbers for Christie and Strong anyway!
I know they made the LP Associates (Xelamp)
and CFS Rentec reflectors. Anyone..correct me if I am wrong! Thanks!

------------------
John Eickhof President, Chief Slave
Northwest Theatre Equipment Co., Inc.
P.O.Box 258
Wendell, ID. 83355-0258
208-536-5489
email: jeickhof@nteequip.com

Pat Moore
Master Film Handler

- posted 03-30-2001 08:33 AM      Profile for Pat Moore   Email Pat Moore   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post