Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » A Tale of Three Theatres: Closing Them Down (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: A Tale of Three Theatres: Closing Them Down
Dustin Mitchell
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted 09-10-2000 02:11 AM      Profile for Dustin Mitchell   Email Dustin Mitchell   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
A little background. I work as an assistant manager for Carmike Cinemas at the Oakwood 12 in Eau Claire, Wisconsin. Recently we closed three theatres in Wisconsin-the Rogers 5 in Wasua, the Rogers 5 in Stevens Point, and the Fox River 10 in Appleton. Well, for those of you who might not know, my manager and I got a call at 7:30 pm Thursday that we were to withold some petty cash and be ready to go to Wasua, Stevens Point, and Appleton the next day to clean those theatre's out. This of course was rather sudden, but we were up to the callenge. Following is my tale of the road trip and the sadness of these closing theatres.

Well, first I should explain the reasons for this closings. the Rogers 5 in Wasau and the Rogers 5 in Stevens Point closed becuase the leases were up, not because of the Chapter 11. Carmike has wanted to close these theatre's they inherited from Excellence for a long time, but Excellence had signed long term leases, so they didn't have a chance until now. Of course they ran them into the ground, more on that later though. The Fox River 10 in Appleton was closed due to the Chapter 11. The Marcus and Regal theatre's killed us there. I won't say the exact number, but Carmike was losing A LOT of money in that theatre.

Beginning the Trip....