Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Cinemeccancia (Page 1)

This topic comprises 3 pages: 1  2  3 

Author Topic: Cinemeccancia
Carl King
Expert Film Handler

- posted 05-28-2000 06:06 PM      Profile for Carl King   Email Carl King   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 

I've been reading through some of the old postings and I see that a few opeators don;t like the Cinemeccanica projectors. I've been using 4 Victoria IV ES machines for 14 years as well as 3 V8 machines for the last 5. The V4 machines are nearly trouble free and the V8 machines have been nearly as reliable.
I find the V8s to be not quite as steady on the screen but other than that....

Who agrees and who disagrees? Reasons and horror stories permitted..

Gordon McLeod
Film God

- posted 05-28-2000 07:04 PM      Profile for Gordon McLeod   Email Gordon McLeod   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
The Vic 4 is indistrucable (well almost)
The Vic 8 works but is unsteady
The Vic 10 was there best machine
The Vic5 is a piece of crap
That is it in a nutshell (or in this case pasta)

Bruce McGee
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted 05-28-2000 08:06 PM      Profile for Bruce McGee   Email Bruce McGee   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
The Vic 8 in the Falls theater in Brevard, NC has a reasonably steady image. He's using a 2000 watt xenon, and has a 120' throw. I noticed that his Vic doesent have the shedding problems that I read about here before FilmGuard debuted.

We will be running one of my FG'd prints in the near future. Can't wait to see what he thinks about it.

John Walsh
Film God

- posted 05-28-2000 08:24 PM      Profile for John Walsh   Email John Walsh   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post