Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Question about frames at the theater (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: Question about frames at the theater
Rob Oakley
Film Handler

- posted 05-19-2000 09:17 PM      Profile for Rob Oakley   Email Rob Oakley   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I'm a newbie to 35mm, because 16mm is old hat. I've can't seem to keep any steady employment at a theater due to the shafty owners of theaters in my area. However for a while I worked at a local 1.50 theater. When I would make up the platter, I was told to cut one frame off each reel - the end of the first and begining of the second, the end of second the begining of the third, ect. I know this is common practice, but I don't know why? Can anyone enlighten me.

|  IP: Logged

Brad Miller
Administrator

- posted 05-19-2000 09:24 PM      Profile for Brad Miller   Author's Homepage   Email Brad Miller       Edit/Delete Post 
The theory is so when the print is broken back down to reels, that "id" frame will help the projectionist determine if he is cutting the film back at the correct places again.

Personally, I NEVER do it as it disrupts the continuity of the analog track and I for one can count backwards during breakdown.

George Roher
Master Film Handler

- posted 05-19-2000 09:46 PM      Profile for George Roher   Email George Roher   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
It's probably better to not cut off id frames, but it's frustrating to receive a used print that has no id frames cut. With the painfully inept people employed by so many theatres these days, you can't trust that the heads and tails are on the right reels.

John Wilson
Film God