Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » The mystery projector

Author Topic: The mystery projector
Harry Robinson
Expert Film Handler

- posted 02-03-2000 10:23 AM      Profile for Harry Robinson   Email Harry Robinson   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
This is my first post. I am a film handling rookie, so be gentle. Okay, here's the scoop. I just bought a Super Simplex, RCA 1040, 6000 ft. 3D magazines, a tripod pedistool and a Christie H-10 with a 110 single-phase rectifier. I now have to wait until our new house is built before I buy anything else.
Well, a friend of a friend who is a retired projectionist/stage hand came over to orient me to this stuff. He took one look at the Super Simplex and said something was strange. He said it looks to him like part of the internal mechanism is from a later model projector, perhaps an XL. Is this possible?
Question two: The gate on this thing won't lock open because the lens is in the way. I'm using the ancient B&L 4.75" that came on this thing, focusing at about 26 feet. When I slide the lens forward an inch (maybe not quite that far) the gate locks open fine. I intend to use a 50mm for flat and a 2.75" with my scope attachment from 25 feet when the home theater is built. Will these lenses not have to be pulled back so far?
Question three: He couldn't get the Christie to focus. My son (a lighting professional with Varilite Corp.) said it looks to him like the Christie won't align with the Super because of the way it sits in the tripod mount. It sits about a half inch below center. Will building an adaptor for the Christie so that it lines up perfectly with the Super make a big difference?

|  IP: Logged

Gordon McLeod
Film God