Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » HELP! Century poser from hell!

Author Topic: HELP! Century poser from hell!
Aaron Sisemore
Flaming Ribs beat Reeses Peanut Butter Cups any day!

- posted 01-11-2000 06:40 PM      Profile for Aaron Sisemore   Email Aaron Sisemore   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I have 18 years experience with Century projectors but this one seems to have me stumped. One of the theatres I tech has a pair of Century HH single shutter straight gate heads (in separate auditoria) that were bought used and in excellent running condition. Within 100 hours of each other they have both developed the following problem:

There is a very loud noise coming from somewhere in the gear train, it sounds very much like a horse 'galloping'... In addition the horizontal shutter shaft moves back and forth a fraction of an inch in time with the galloping noises. I also have gotten complaints that the picture gradually 'goes out of frame' as this goes on. I have done the following in my diagnosis of the situation:

-Checked the gear train completely for any damaged teeth.. found NOTHING.

-Replaced the intermittent with a known good spare... NOTHING changes

-I have discovered with the second machine ( I have replaced the first one with a working SA as the film had become unwatchable in that house) that moving the shutter timing knob to either extreme would stop the galloping noise and it ran smooth, so as a stopgap until I could get more time to work on this I reset the intermittent to the shutter with the knob in this extreme. Now the problem is back. Also in the worst case with the other projector, the picture began to travel ghost and jump in time with the galloping sound, Thats where I first thought the intermittent was at fault. I am out of ideas at this juncture.